My Kitchen-Aid FAIL and WIN!

So, a few years ago, my mother gave me a Kitchen-aid mixer for christmas. SCORE!
It was just your basic white. And I’ve always wanted to vamp it up. But for the most part it stays in the pantry, since we really don’t have a lot of counter space. So there was never a big hurry for me to do it. But now that I’m a stay at home mom.
Sorry I just made myself laugh at that inside joke. I don’t have kids, just dogs.
My first thought. GLITTER! let’s make this thing SHINE. So after a bit of googling on how to. Didn’t really come up with anything, besides how to repaint it. We’ll come back to that.
The two options I came up with? epoxy rhinestone on. Which I wasn’t a posed to, but knew it would take forever. So I went with option two, modge podging glitter on it.

Steps:
Take all the metal pieces off
Take the back motor plate off
Tape over areas you don’t want to change.
Mix MP and Glitter
Brush on non-taped areas. (foam brush will be best)
Let dry in-between layers. There was a lot of layers.

As you can tell that really didn’t work out. AT ALL. The MP was so thick it just peeled right off. You couldn’t even tell I had done anything at all. So I reconsidered what I needed to do. THought it over for a week or so. And made a trip to Wal-Mart to look through their paint department.
I grabbed a really pretty bottle of a shimmer teal/blue, a glitterish spray as top coat, and a bottle of chalkboard paint.
I decided to go with chalkboard paint. That way I can change it up when I want or even write the recipes on it.

STEPS:
Use the above steps, till you get to the mixing glitter and painting on part.
Once you did the general prep, lightly sand the mixer. You can’t really see that in pics so I didn’t even bother taking a pic. You’re not sanding the color off folks. Just lightly roughing up the clear coat. I used a 320 grit sand paper.
I then placed the mixer on an amazon box I had, you can use any brand you like :). Placed that outside. (I had a nice sunny clear day)
It’s going to take a couple of coats to get even. Just lightly spray, keeping can at least 6 inches from the mixer. Don’t forget the underside stuff. I waited like 5 minutes in between sprays, but eventually you’ll get it.
Let cure for at least 24 hours before drawing on it. I know, that’s the hardest part.

3 thoughts on “My Kitchen-Aid FAIL and WIN!

Leave a Reply

