Chocolate and “Peanut Butter” Smoothie

I’ve tried to cut out most “non-natural” sugars. So for a sweet treat or breakfast sometimes if I don’t eat a protein shake, I’ll make a smoothie. I’ve toyed with the idea of a Peanut Butter Cup smoothie. This is not a dessert style smoothie. It’s sweet, but not sweet sweet.

A few ingredients, but maybe not anything you don’t already have. Or couldn’t substitute. Or subtract all together. (In this picture I show cocoa nibs, they add little bitterness and texture, they’re not for everyone) And instead of cocoa powder you could use chocolate. If you had the chocolate PB2 that would be amazing.

This smoothie I think works best if you have a few minutes prep time. I like to soak my sliced dates and Chia seeds for a few minutes in the almond milk. Helps soften them both. But it’s really not necessary.

Then add the other ingredients in stages. I take everything I buy that comes in plastic and transfer it to glass containers.


.

Smoothie Recipe

2 Pitted Dates (sliced)
1/2 cup Almond Milk
Pinch Chia Seeds

1 tbsp Cocoa Powder
2 tsp PB2
1/2 cup Greek Yogurt
1 tsp Vanilla

1 whole Banana (Frozen, Sliced)
4 regular Ice Cubes

I throw the first three ingredients in the blender and let it sit about 5 minutes.
Then put in the next 4 ingredients. I then blend these till smooth, with my blender about a minute plus or minis. Helps chops the dates with out over blending the frozen things.
Last throw in your frozen banana and ice cubes. Blend till smooth, another minute or two.

Leave a Reply

